Welcome to IWOTA 2012

Welcome to the 23rd International Workshop on Operator Theory and its Applications (IWOTA 2012).

For the past 30 years, IWOTA has brought together mathematicians working in a variety of fields that share operator theory as a common theme. In 2012, it is Australia's turn to host IWOTA. This meeting will emphasise three directions:

  • Operator algebras.
  • Control theory.
  • Harmonic analysis of differential operators.

Of course, the workshop will not be restricted to these three themes, and colleagues working on any aspect of operator theory, understood in a very broad sense, are encouraged to participate.

The conference will be held at the University of New South Wales, Sydney, Australia, from Monday 16 July to Friday 20 July. It follows the 20th International Symposium on Mathematical Theory of Networks and Systems MTNS 2012 in Melbourne.

IWOTA 2012 is sponsored by the University of New South Wales, the Centre for Mathematics and its Applications of the Australian National University, and the Australian Mathematical Sciences Institute.

We also anticipate receiving funds from the National Science Foundation (USA), to provide travel support to up to twelve junior mathematicians based in the United States who do not have direct support from NSF. In the selection of travel awards, special consideration will be given to women and members of underrepresented groups in the mathematical sciences. To apply for these funds, please send e-mail to Raul Curto at raul-curto@uiowa.edu .

Previous IWOTA meetings

  • Santa Monica (CA, USA) [1981]
  • Rehovot (Israel) [1983]
  • Amsterdam (Netherlands) [1985]
  • Mesa (AZ, USA) [1987]
  • Rotterdam (Netherlands) [1989]
  • Sapporo (Japan) [1991]
  • Vienna (Austria) [1993]
  • Regensburg (Germany) [1995]
  • Bloomington (IN, USA) [1996]
  • Groningen (Netherlands) [1998]
  • Bordeaux (France) [2000]
  • Faro (Portugal) [2000]
  • Blacksburg (VA, USA) [2002]
  • Cagliari (Italia) [2003]
  • Newcastle (UK) [2004]
  • Storrs (CT, USA) [2005]
  • Seoul (Korea) [2006]
  • Potchefstroom (South Africa) [2007]
  • Williamsburg (VA, USA) [2008]
  • Guanajuato (México) [2009]
  • Berlin (Germany) [2010]
  • Seville (Spain) [2011]